Skip to content
Independent guideNew Zealand Visa Guide
Menu

Independent guide. Not Immigration New Zealand and not immigration advice — applications are made only at immigration.govt.nz.

Reference

English Language Requirements for New Zealand Visas

There is no single English standard across NZ visas. AEWV skill levels 1-2 need none; levels 3-5 need IELTS 4.0. Skill level 3 was added on 1 June 2026.

By the NZ Visa Guide editorial team9 min read
english language requirements new zealand visaielts for new zealand visanz visa english testenglish requirements nz immigration
English Language Requirements for New Zealand Visas
On this page

English Language Requirements for New Zealand Visas

There is no single English standard across New Zealand visas. It varies sharply by product. Accredited Employer Work Visa jobs at skill level 1 or 2 need no English evidence at all; jobs at skill level 3, 4 or 5 need IELTS 4.0 or equivalent. Skill level 3 was added on 1 June 2026. Student visa standards are set by the education provider, not by INZ.

Quick Facts

Is there one national standard? No. The requirement is set per visa product
AEWV skill level 1–2 No English evidence required
AEWV skill level 3, 4 and 5 IELTS 4.0 or equivalent — described by the government as basic, everyday English
Skill level 3 rule took effect 1 June 2026, announced 25 May 2026
Transitional carve-out Visas expiring on or before 1 December 2026 are exempt on a skill level 3 renewal
Global Workforce Seasonal / Peak Seasonal Visas No English requirement
Student visas Standard set by the approved education provider, not INZ
SMC test validity from 24 August 2026 5 years instead of 2, for eligible occupational registrations
Controlling source INZ's English language requirements page

Why there is no single answer

New Zealand does not run one English test threshold across its immigration system. It sets a different rule for each product, and in some categories it sets no rule at all. That is genuinely confusing, and it is why so much third-party content quoting "the New Zealand English requirement" is wrong for most readers.

Four different mechanisms are in use:

  • A test score threshold — the work visa model
  • A functional standard with no published score — several residence and family categories require an applicant to "speak and understand English"
  • A delegated standard — for student visas, the provider sets the entry level
  • No requirement — several products, including the new seasonal visas, impose none

The rest of this page works through them by category. For any figure that decides whether you apply or not, INZ's own English language requirements page is the controlling source and should be checked directly.

Work visas: the Accredited Employer Work Visa

This is where the rule is clearest, and where it changed most recently.

Job skill level (ANZSCO or NOL) English evidence
Skill level 1 Not required
Skill level 2 Not required
Skill level 3 Required — IELTS 4.0 or equivalent, from 1 June 2026
Skill level 4 Required — IELTS 4.0 or equivalent
Skill level 5 Required — IELTS 4.0 or equivalent

INZ's own wording on the Accredited Employer Work Visa page is direct: if your job is ANZSCO or NOL skill level 3 to 5, you must show that you can speak and understand English.

IELTS 4.0 is a low bar by international standards. The government described the standard as "basic, everyday English for common situations". It is not the level required for skilled residence, and it is not comparable to the thresholds Australia or Canada apply to skilled work.

Skill levels are assigned by occupation, under either ANZSCO or the National Occupation List — both classifications operate in parallel for work visas. Which one applies to your role, and what level it sits at, is the question that decides whether you need a test at all. See AEWV skill levels explained and ANZSCO vs the National Occupation List.

The 1 June 2026 change, and who it caught

Before 1 June 2026, English evidence was required only for skill level 4 and 5 roles. From that date it was extended to skill level 3, aligning the three lower bands. The change was announced on 25 May 2026 and took effect a week later.

The scale of it is the point. Skill level 3 is now the largest part of the AEWV cohort — around half of all applications, against 16% for skill levels 4 and 5 combined. Extending the requirement to level 3 therefore roughly quadrupled the number of applicants who need a test result.

Three transitional protections were published alongside it:

  • AEWV holders whose visas expire on or before 1 December 2026 are exempt when applying for a skill level 3 renewal.
  • Applicants who previously supplied English evidence remain compliant and do not need to test again for the same purpose.
  • Global Workforce Seasonal Visa and Peak Seasonal Visa applications are not affected and carry no English requirement.

See the AEWV English language requirement extension and English language requirements for work visas.

Seasonal work visas: no requirement

The two seasonal products that replaced the seasonal Specific Purpose Work Visa in December 2025 impose no English requirement:

Neither requires a labour market test either. They are deliberately designed for returning seasonal workers with an established employment history in New Zealand.

Student visas: the provider sets the standard

For student visas, INZ does not set the English entry level. The approved education provider does, and it is enforced through the offer of place rather than through the visa application.

That has two practical consequences. A university, a polytechnic, a private training establishment and a school may each demand a different score for a broadly similar programme — so the answer to "what English do I need for a New Zealand student visa" is genuinely "whatever your provider requires". And an English Language Student Visa exists precisely so that people can come to New Zealand to reach that level, which means an English-language course is itself a visa category rather than a prerequisite for one.

INZ still assesses whether the offer of place is genuine and whether the applicant has a genuine intention to study. See the genuine intention requirement for student visas.

Residence categories

This is the area where the most confident wrong numbers circulate, and where we deliberately publish the least.

What is verified. From 24 August 2026, English test results are valid for 5 years instead of 2 under the Skilled Migrant Category, for applicants holding an eligible occupational registration. That is a meaningful easing for registered professionals — nurses, engineers, teachers and others — whose registration already evidences a working command of English. See the Skilled Migrant Category changes explained.

What is reported but must be confirmed. The 24 August 2026 restructure of the Skilled Migrant Category has been reported as setting the English standard at IELTS 6.5 or equivalent. We do not state that as fact here. INZ has published the post-24-August points table, but it does not state an IELTS band, so residence-level English scores must be confirmed on INZ's English language requirements page before you book a test or rely on a score you already hold. What the published instructions do confirm is that from 24 August 2026 an English test result stays valid for 5 years instead of 2 where the applicant holds an eligible occupational registration.

What is a functional standard rather than a score. Several categories require an applicant to "speak and understand English" without publishing a number. The Parent Resident Visa is the clearest example — and it allows an applicant who does not meet the standard to pay for English lessons instead, an option that exists in almost no other category.

What was removed. The English language requirement for Active Investor Plus was removed as part of the April 2025 changes to that category.

For the residence picture in full, see English requirements for New Zealand residence.

Working Holiday Schemes

Most Working Holiday Schemes impose no English proficiency test. Six do:

China · the Philippines · Thailand · Turkey · Vietnam · Peru

Peru's is unusual in being optional but financially significant: an acceptable English test result reduces the funds requirement from NZ$7,000 to NZ$4,200.

We do not publish the accepted test names or the minimum scores for these six schemes. INZ's own English-language page for Working Holiday Visas does not publish them either — it defers to a lookup tool — and no reproducible score table could be verified. Anyone applying under one of those six schemes should read the requirement on their own country's scheme page before booking a test. See working holiday schemes by country.

A separate point catches people out and is not an English proficiency rule: every Working Holiday application must be lodged online and in English, with translations supplied for non-English documents. That obligation applies to all 45 schemes, including the 39 that impose no test.

Proving English without a test

Test results are not the only accepted evidence in every category. New Zealand has historically also recognised schooling, tertiary study or skilled employment conducted in English in a small group of countries, and recognised professional registration as evidence in some categories.

The accepted alternatives, the qualifying countries and the recognised test list vary by visa and change. They are published on INZ's English language requirements page, which is the controlling source, and they should be read there rather than taken from a third-party summary. Booking the wrong test, or relying on an alternative that does not apply to your category, is an expensive mistake that a five-minute check prevents.

Frequently Asked Questions

What English level do I need for a New Zealand visa?

It depends on the visa. Accredited Employer Work Visa jobs at skill level 1 or 2 need no English evidence; levels 3 to 5 need IELTS 4.0 or equivalent. Student visa standards are set by the education provider. Residence categories set higher standards, and those must be confirmed on INZ's English language requirements page.

Do I need IELTS for a New Zealand work visa?

Only if your job sits at ANZSCO or NOL skill level 3, 4 or 5, and then at IELTS 4.0 or equivalent. Skill level 1 and 2 roles require no English evidence at all. Other tests are accepted as equivalents — check the current accepted list on INZ's page.

What changed on 1 June 2026?

The English requirement was extended from skill level 4 and 5 roles to include skill level 3, at IELTS 4.0 or equivalent. It was announced on 25 May 2026. Around half of all Accredited Employer Work Visa applications are for skill level 3 roles, so the change affected a large share of applicants.

Am I exempt from the new skill level 3 English rule?

Two published carve-outs exist. Holders whose visas expire on or before 1 December 2026 are exempt when applying for a skill level 3 renewal, and anyone who previously provided English evidence remains compliant. Whether either applies to a particular application is a question for INZ or a licensed immigration adviser.

Do seasonal work visas require English?

No. The Global Workforce Seasonal Visa and the Peak Seasonal Visa carry no English requirement, and were expressly excluded from the 1 June 2026 change.

What English do I need for a New Zealand student visa?

The level your education provider requires. INZ does not set a score for student visas — the provider sets the entry standard and evidences it through the offer of place.

How long is an English test result valid for a New Zealand visa?

It varies by category, and this is one of the figures most often quoted wrongly. One change is confirmed: from 24 August 2026, results are valid for 5 years instead of 2 under the Skilled Migrant Category for applicants with an eligible occupational registration. Confirm the validity period for your own category on INZ's page.

Which working holiday visas need an English test?

Six schemes impose one: China, the Philippines, Thailand, Turkey, Vietnam and Peru. Peru's is optional but reduces the funds requirement from NZ$7,000 to NZ$4,200. The accepted tests and minimum scores are not published in a reproducible table and should be read on the scheme page for your own country.

Is there an English requirement for the Active Investor Plus visa?

No. It was removed as part of the April 2025 changes to that category.


Primary source: Immigration New Zealand's English language requirements guidance and the Accredited Employer Work Visa page, plus the Beehive release of 25 May 2026 extending the requirement to skill level 3 roles. Verified 20 August 2026. Where this page does not state a score, it is because none could be verified from a primary source — check INZ directly rather than relying on a third-party figure.

This page is general information about published requirements. It is not immigration advice and does not assess whether you meet them.

Explore

Explore